What Is CMMC?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) framework is a validation system designed to assess organizations’ maturity in safeguarding unclassified information, including Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). CMMC introduces a fresh set of cybersecurity standards that consolidates various cybersecurity references, standards, and best practices. It encompasses a range of processes and practices organized across five cumulative certification levels.

CMMC is developed and overseen by the Department of Defense (DoD) and serves as the DoD’s response to potential compromises of sensitive information residing in Defense Industrial Base (DIB) systems and networks. The CMMC Accreditation Body (AB) holds the authority for conducting CMMC assessments and training.

Why Is CMMC Important?

Similar to other sectors, the Defense Industrial Base and the Department of Defense’s supply chain have experienced a significant number of security incidents. Recognizing the need to mitigate risks related to national economic security and overall national security, the DoD has prioritized the protection of unclassified information. Consequently, the DoD has introduced the CMMC framework to evaluate and enhance the cybersecurity readiness of organizations across the DoD contractor community. Given that CMMC is a cybersecurity standard, CMMC certification will eventually become mandatory for all DoD contractors, including small businesses, commercial item contractors, and other suppliers. CMMC training courses are designed to provide you with insights into CMMC domains, practices, and processes, and their application within the DoD supply chain. These courses will also prepare you for your role within the CMMC-AB ecosystem.

Benefits of CMMC Training Courses

Certified CMMC training courses empower you to:

  • Grasp the fundamental concepts, definitions, and approaches within the CMMC model.
  • Comprehend the CMMC domains, capabilities, processes, and practices relevant to each CMMC maturity level.
  • Interpret CMMC requirements in the specific context of an organization.
  • Understand the CMMC assessment methodology and process across all CMMC levels.
  • Acquire the expertise needed to assist organizations in implementing and managing CMMC model requirements.
Scroll to Top